relinquish

My word for today is ‘relinquish.’ Exams, homework, everything is done, and yet I can’t shake the feeling that surely there must be something I ought to be doing. No, you say, truly it’s okay for me to sleep in and read and watch a movie and relax all day? Logically I know this is true, but I haven’t been free of homework and studying obligations since the first day of classes, and it’s hard to let go.

Today I also relinquished my computer, handing it over to our friendly OIT staff so they can replace the cd drive. I still have the ability to check my email etc on my ipod and the school computers, but separating myself from constant internet connection, resources, and distractions was actually a big deal. I think it will be good for me to be fairly disconnected for a while. In the meantime I have my guitar, sewing projects, and friends to keep my excellent company.

Leave a Reply

